Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Rotary Wing - Test Pilot - Bridging Course

Test pilots who have graduated from our Class B course, or flight test personnel who have comparable training and experience, can enrol on the bridging course to upgrade their qualification to a CAT 1 flight test rating.


The rotary wing test pilot bridging course provides the additional flight test training required to conduct experimental and higher risk trials activity, including the necessary qualifications to conduct EASA CAT 1 experimental or ‘envelope expansion’ flight test.

Find out more about the fleet

Course Overview

This course is designed as a bespoke learning package tailored to each individual’s needs, and their existing knowledge and experience.

The bridging course typically starts in late May – with start dates set on a case-by-case basis, depending on your previous experience – and lasts around seven months.

You’ll begin with a 3-4 week ‘lead-in’ period covering aircraft conversions and demo flights, safety drills, report writing skills and revision. Following that you’ll progress to the Class A course, completing it with the other Class A students in mid-December.

Entry Standards

Our courses are open to pilots from the UK and overseas who are sponsored by their service or employer to undertake the training. ETPS may seek evidence of your experience and qualifications to ensure suitability and, where necessary, make specific recommendations for pre-course preparation.

To be accepted for the test pilot bridging course you must have graduated from a Class B/EASA CAT 2 compliant course, or have equivalent training and experience. You’ll also need:

  • More than 750 operational flying hours as First Pilot
  • High average to above average flying abilities
  • A high level of academic ability in mathematics, mechanics, aerodynamics and aero-systems
  • Medical fitness for all forms of flying
  • A strong command of aviation and technical English – both written and spoken.

Find out how to apply

Related Courses

Class A

Rotary Wing Test Pilot Class A

This one-year course qualifies pilots to EASA Category 1 (CAT 1) flight test rating.

Class B

Rotary Wing Test Pilot Class B

This is a six-month course that qualifies pilots to EASA Category 2 (CAT2) flight test rating.

Rotary Wing - Test Pilot - Bridging Course